PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE – SHANTAE THOMAS – A WOMAN OF CHANGE

 

S THOM.jpg

SHANTAE THOMAS 36

Mother, daughter, professional, and friend, are just some of the words that describe me. And while I am all of the above , I am also hearing impaired. At first glance you would never know that I struggle with this disability, because I do not let it define me.  I was always raised to excel regardless of setbacks, and I actually regard this part of my life as a blessing.  I know that may sound silly, but my hearing loss has helped me in many ways, and its helped me to ultimately step into my true calling. I loss my hearing in 2006, and it was truly a struggle. I had to adapt to a foreign way of life.  Unlike those born deaf, I had to learn almost everything over again.  As a mother, I was forced to be more in tune with my children, and because I am unable to hear them, I have to truly be present and in the moment at all times. As a friend, I had to rely heavily on my circle of friends.  They help me in ways that most friends would not. My disability has proven to be a catalyst to one of my most proudest accomplishments, and that’s the founding of a non profit group I run, called Women of Change.

FB_IMG_1497833826067

IMG_3558

This group serves to empower women of all ages, ethnicities, socioeconomic statuses, and education levels. We strive to do good in the community and increase the quality of life for women locally. I started this group  online due to the fact that I was not able to hear. Social media has been my main source of communication for years now. This group has helped women develop bonds, increase their self-esteem, and overall increase the quality of their life. Even though I created this group to help other women, it has truly been a Saving Grace for me. As a black woman living in this world, I have experienced many challenges, and being hearing impaired has only added to this obstacle. It is my hope to inspire other women to realize that regardless of their situation, they can still experience all that life has to offer. Thank you for allowing me to introduce myself

FB_IMG_1497834060083

IMG_3556

womenofchangenc.com/bios.html

social media: WOMEN of Change
@WOMENOFCHANGE2016
One thought on “PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE – SHANTAE THOMAS – A WOMAN OF CHANGE

  1. This young lady was truly a blessing to me and my family! She was born to do great things, reach leaps and bounds unmentiined and unimaginable within her family! God filled, gifted, talented and spiritually driven she touches the lives of many, reaches out to take the hand of many and lift the hearts of all that she comes in contact with! She is funny, keeps you laughing and knows how to turn a frown into a smile! She loves unconditionally, gives her all and all to anyone that may be in need! She cares and don’t mind listening when others need a listening ear. God reins down on her and leads her to pour out to those in need! Regardless of her sacrifices, her shortcomings she knows that if she give to those in need that her return comes back 3 fold to her 1! God bless you in all your endeavors and may your life be rich with his grace and mercy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

