PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE – CHELSEA NICOLE

FullSizeRender (7)Chelsea Nicole 27 years of age, and born healthy. I grew up as a tomboy, enjoying dancing, cheering, and running track. In the year of 2005, age 15, my grandmother noticed something neither of my parents nor myself even realized. My posture was not like many others. My mom scheduled an appointment with my primary doctor just to receive a diagnosis of Scoliosis. We were referred to a orthopedic doctor just to find out that my spine so severe that if I did not have surgery, I’ll have a hunchback by the time I turned 18. So we went with the surgery and til this day I’m walking around with a metal rod in my back, that alone slowed me down with my passion of dancing, but I did not give up. Fast forward to the year of 2013, at the age of 23 there was a problem with numbness and tingling with the left side of my body. I’ve noticed this at a younger age but ignored it because I was young and didn’t think anything of it until this problem was so severe affected my daily routine.

6C124AD9-D082-438D-8A2B-B75FF241C05C

409B4253-5EF4-4D39-BC1B-74245129CE28

I was forced to go to the ER because of dizziness came about with the numbness and tingling sensation. While at the ER the doctor came in to examine me just to tell me I was having a mini stroke, but I knew I wasn’t because I wasn’t stressing nor did I have stroke like symptoms. I requested a new doctor and demanded to perform test to make sure, and that’s when I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. After staying in the hospital overnight and referred to a neurologist, having many test ran. I was told that it was in fact MS with lesions on my brain and spine. With things getting worse from walking, and driving, anxiety, and depression came about bringing me down in life, suicide came into mind with nobody knowing the thoughts that were going through my head. Moving forward to 2017 at the age of 27 everything is going better than before, just to find out I have a cyst on each ovary that’s still growing and also being diagnosed with Endometriosis. I realized I’ve had infertility problems once when I was pregnant at 18, and after years and years of trying to start a family. Depression has definitely come back stronger than before, but you know what?, I serve an AWESOME GOD who as the final say so on my life. I will be having surgery and also going with infertility treatments, keeping God first at all times. None of these situations will stop me from being the best that I can be. Whether I have a metal rod in my back, complications walking and driving, and possibly not having kids of my own, but as long as I walk by FAITH and not by sight, I WILL STAY STRONG and encourage myself to keep moving forward, praying for the best.

D04D4A20-2958-4927-9CD4-EBEEBB59DF65

FullSizeRender (8)

One thought on “PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE – CHELSEA NICOLE

  1. This is a wonderful, motivating and inspiring story. I have to say that it breathe new life in others that may be going through similar life health issues, abnormal diagnosis and traumatic situations! But, knowing that you can do all things through Christ, be all that you desire to be and overcome some of the toughest struggles by believing and trusting in God! God bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

