PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE SHE’NA MONAE SANDERS

 

IMG_3386She’na Monae Sanders

29 Years of age

I was 13 when I was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma in my left knee. When I found out i was running track and was unable to bend my leg. My mom and coach thought that maybe it was just some torn ligaments, after finally going to the emergency room, and getting multiple test done, the doctors suggested that it was the same thing. Until the next day we received a call saying they seen a tumor and needed to do a biopsy as soon as possible. The test results came back and we learned that the tumor in my knee was indeed cancerous. I was only 13 years old. Having to finish my school year in a wheel chair.

Doctors were unsure if they would be able to save my leg or if i would even be able to give birth to children later on in life. The chemotherapy helped with shrinking the size of the tumor, After that I had to go through with a knee replacement, where they took my knee and 3/4 of my thigh out and replacing it with metal. After 15 years the metal rod wore off and has been giving me problems, to where I would have to under go a second knee replacement.

Regardless of what the doctors say I was able to give birth to 2 of the most beautiful boys in the world, Cincere 7 and Cai 5.

IMG_3387

No matter the setback of what people say about me, I was given a second chance and I love my life and live it to the fullest, and my story doesn’t end here.

FullSizeRender (6)

4 thoughts on “PEOPLE OF CHARLOTTE SHE’NA MONAE SANDERS

Leave a Reply

